Email Address

  
Password

Remember me
Not a member? It's easy to join!
Forgot your pasword?

When you purchase a MartinLogan product, you join an exclusive community of people who own and love the very best audio. We want you to be part of that family and join in the conversation with other MartinLogan enthusiasts.

Join our community today to keep track of your registered products, submit your own personal product reviews, and create a profile page to show off your MartinLogan system!



Depth i Customer Reviews

Great Sub-woofer
by Phil, 3 months ago

I have been looking for a few years to find a sub that would be a match with my Electrostatic speakers. I had a pair of Quads ESL 63's rebuilt and they of course lack the deepest of bass and I wanted to add the foundation missing to my audio system. I purchased a few, some worked better than other prices ranged from $900.00 to $1,600 none work to the point where I forgot they were in the system nor did they have the speed to blend with the Quads fully.

I got my Audio Advisor magazine and I saw the Depth i for sale, after thinking it over and knowing Martin Logan makes wonderful electrostatic speakers I said if anyone can make a sub to match it will be ML.

I spoke with a rep at Audio Advisor and he was great with answer my questions I decided to order one for my system.

Received the sub within a week, read the manual followed the directions, make a few adjustments and all I can say is this, this is one of the best purchases I've made, everything a sub should do this unit does, clean, tight, fast, goes deep down with no fat bass or bloat, not only would this sub work with Electrostatics speakers but any cone speaker I've owned in the past would have been better with this sub.

I am enjoying my system more, hearing the little things better, the imaging is better and more open sounding, and like eletrostatics speakers the distortion is as low from the highs down to the bottom end. Right now no cone driver speaker as ever been able to reproduce such a clean and distortion free sound, with no glar, or forwardness. What electrostatics to great is still there, now I have the lower mid-bass and lower in the same high quality of reproduction as the rest of my speaker system.

Just a wonderful product for any system. I should add solid built quality to match the sound. This is one highend sub woofer without having to cost $5,000 and up.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Deph i ??? Monster!
by gengiscanxxx, 12 months ago

Yes.
Descent i is simply a monster of power but is also fine and super speed sobwoofer.
in Music is very great and in home theater move you and your big and havy cinema chair .
Only Rambo , or a big bear can muve and schake you than you listen this beautiful S.woofer system.
I'm very very Happy
a little Italian ovner

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Holly Options!
by xmagoo190, 3 years ago

The title says it all. The Depth i is a Audiophile's dream. A highly tune-able beast with unmatched performance.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Depth i
by Bjorn Borgenhard, 3 years ago

Stop your search right now - you have landed! This sub is just amazing how well it blends in with my Acoustic Zen Adagio speakers. They have now turned into true full range speakers! I can't say enough good things about this sub and like REL (no they are not only sub-system that can do this) you can have the LFE channel from your surround sound processor hooked up while the sub is hooked up in line for your audiophile 2-channel system. This sub will just "disappear" sound wise and provides some incredible, tight, musical bass while also giving you tremendous punch for those movie special effects when needed. This sub should easily blend in with any high-end speakers out there. Also, ML's customer service is outstanding!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Good Value! High Performance
by Pagamas, 4 years ago

Strength: Compact Size, Good Looking, Great details, Musical, Fast and Somewhat Strong Impact
Weakness: Nothing Compare to its Price

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


ML Depth-i with Magnepan 1.7s
by Caterm, 4 years ago

Purchased a ML Depth i to support my Maggie 1.7s .. would assume the sub mates with other smaller ML speakers just as well, but the Depth i has the speed, transparency, and sub 20Hz extension to transform the 1.7s into something really special.

Not just additional lower frequency extension, but result is more like a really well integrated full range set of large speakers at a much lower cost.

3 smaller 8 inch drivers placed @ 120 degrees gives some placement flexibility, enables required speed, and supports true LF extension. Control set also allows fine tuning and addresses some room modes (although I am also using a DSPeaker box which automatically mates sub to room via microphone based sweep and DSP; also recommended depending on your room).

The Depth i is the best sub I have experienced at this price point; not inexpensive (but not overpriced), however provides significant outperformance for the incremental cost.

Excellent, thanks.

1 of 1 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


almost a great subwoofer
by corey, 4 years ago

bought it excited to get it home hooked it up . the lows are super clean and very low . i rate this sub just ok problem i had it is not loud enough to keep up with my system. the internal amp would not allow the woofers to play any louder. amp is rated @ 350 watts rms . i would do a realistic rateing of 150 watts rms this sub is a winner if mabe you bought 3 or 4 of them. i took the sub apart i was very dispointed with ml. the speaker wires look to be about an 18 gage thickness subs were not in different chambers all in one. the amp looked wimpy looks like all the electronics are hot glued inside the boxfor placement. my final opinion this sub is not worth 2 k, i would value it around 900 i was very disapointed,

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


11!? How will I ever make it there? I can't go above 4!
by poundsign, 4 years ago

First off, I had been eyeing out this sub for sometime. I was going to settle for one of the Dynamo series because of the wireless connectivity and due to the fact I am living in an apartment. I got a chance to experience the Decent at my local Magnolia store and to say I was blown away was an understatement. I brought a few blu-ray discs and we fired up "I am Legend" The beginning scene with Will Smith flying down the streets in the Mustang, literally shook my hair! The amount of clarity and pressure that came out of the Decent was awe inspiring. In fact I have been slightly disappointed visiting the local AMC unless its their IMAX screen due to the lack of bass they have been pushing out. Watching Tron (5 times) and downloading the soundtrack (an amazing work by Daft Punk) wishing I could watch it in the Magnolia theater instead of the other times I watched in it a normal theater.

I really pondered the fact that I live in an apartment and I was hoping that the 3 8" drivers would be able to fill the space and was actually thinking I might have to go with the Decent just to be happy. Well that was pretty ignorant of me. I should have gone with the entry level Dynamo because that would have been PLENTY, instead I fired up the Depth i and put on Inception. Ummmmm yeah I had the sub on 4 and put on the scene where they blow the elevator to "create gravity". As the elevator was moving up past the tv screen I thought my apartment building was going to fall down. My couch started to violently shake like the 1989 Earthquake in San Francisco! (I'll never forget that) I had to jump for the subwoofer to turn it down! It was EPIC!

Well after a good amount of sitting in silence to see if any of my neighbors were going to stop by and complain for an awkward 5 mins, I turned the movie back on dialed in the knobs on the Depth i and have settled on 2.5 for the perfect blend and balance of depth (no pun intended), blend, and sound quality. Prior to me picking up the Depth i today, I had been mixing a rock tune for my bands next single and I can't wait to hear it on the system!

Ok, so your going to laugh because right now the only other Martin Logan speakers I own are Motion 4's. I am using them as my stereo right and left for now until I pick up a pair of Purities and then I will dedicated the Motion 4's them to my surround right and left until I pick up the Motion FX's once they are out and then I will have my complete home theater system.

I tell you I am blown away at the quality of the Depth i, from sound to build, I can not thank Martin Logan enough for dedicating their lives to replicating audio to best of their ability through their speakers. Simply Amazing.

Coming from the studio where I have spend countless number of hours capturing the best quality of sound I can. To mixing it to represent the emotion of the performance that went into it. To listening to it on high quality speakers by Martin Logan is a pleasure and so rewarding.

Yes the Dynamo sub would have been more then enough to fill my apartment but those who know me know I wont settle for just anything, I wanted the best, I wanted the Depth i and now I am a proud owner.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


MartinLogan Depth i Review
by giancarlo, 4 years ago

Here is a review that I did of the Martin Logan Depth i...

Read full review here >>

1 of 1 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here



 
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Instagram

©1982-2014 MartinLogan, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.   | Privacy PolicyUnauthorized Dealers WARNING

United States United States