Email Address

  
Password

Remember me
Not a member? It's easy to join!
Forgot your pasword?

When you purchase a MartinLogan product, you join an exclusive community of people who own and love the very best audio. We want you to be part of that family and join in the conversation with other MartinLogan enthusiasts.

Join our community today to keep track of your registered products, submit your own personal product reviews, and create a profile page to show off your MartinLogan system!



Dynamo 300 Customer Reviews

Dynamo 300
by Rodger B., 7 months ago

I was very skeptical about purchasing this sub. It is smaller and has less power than the Klipsch that I was using. However, becauseof the price offered on Amazon, I had to give it a try. I am definitely glad that I tried it.. It sounds so much better and blends much better with my oldMartin Logan SL3s. That I was able to pick up used. Just hope it last , if it does it was a steal 129.00.. It's worth the 300.00 retail price.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Too Good for the Price
by Potternovels, 9 months ago

Most things I've bought have been good quality, but sometimes I'll buy something for a specific need and I've added this subwoofer to my smart TV to augment bass. I had no idea a 75 watt eight inch subwoofer could give this much sound. I have to keep the volume low or it overwhelms the large TV speakers. When we download movies from Vudu, the sound is amazing with abit more volume. I bought mine at an unbelievable $125 and now they're selling for $99. At this price they are almost a throwaway price. I will definitely consider the Dynamo 700 when I replace my old surround sound sub from HTD.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Dynomite!
by ynot, 11 months ago

I replaced a Bose surround system,I must say the bose sub did pretty good,however the Dynamo 300 sub blew it up ( like Dynomite). Awsome upgrade, great bass response for such a compact sub. This is top notch for entry level.
This is my first purchase of any ML product, I must say it probably won't be my last. Thanks ML for such a high quality product at such an affordable price.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


DYNAMO 300
by leland c, 2 years ago

Incredible deep bass,couldn't be happier.The price, what a bargain.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Best sub for my money!
by Martin G., 2 years ago

Exceeded all my expectations for an 8 " sub at the price. I own a vellodyne HGS-8 and did not believe I'd be satisfied for 1/8 th the price. Surprisingly deep,rich,powerful and remarkably accurate! Complimented my master bedroom system well.according to my b.a.s.s. cd(bad ass sound system) it plays down to 29 hrtz at 80 db! Well done Martin Logan.

Sincerely, a bass snob

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Amazing Value
by kenito, 2 years ago

Bought the Dynamo 300 to 'stand in' for a Sunfire Architectural sub that blew its electronics. Common, I've heard; Expensive to repair, cheaper to replace...the amp, at least...but a replacement amp was MORE than this great little sub!
Anyway, this little gem is named correctly. No, not as low as the Sunfire, but for 1/10th the price I've gotten 9/10ths of the performance. Very adequate for movies, it's now on to music - some low organ notes and real (vs. 'synthed')percussion - to see how well such a diminutive investment distinguishes itself there, too. Thanks for a great product and value!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Solidly designed sub
by Robert Brody, 3 years ago

The Dynamo 300 sub may seem to be under-spec'd for it's price. You can certainly buy larger subs for the money, but this sub does a very good job, being both accurate and fairly powerful. It produces very usable bass into the 30hz region and loads up well enough to create the effect of going even deeper. I've got a primary system consisting of Merlin speakers and Manley tube amps, but this small sub was bought for a 2nd system with Motion 4's and a Denon amp. It's doing an excellent job thus far and, in a medium sized room, can produce a satisfyingly musical bass-fill for small speakers. After a short break-in I found the the 300 was creating a very well blended and detailed accounting of itself. Pressed into action for movie material it handled the likes of Real Steel and King Kong with authority, though please remember that this sub is probably not suited to larger rooms for HT. I own a 10" audiophile sub that costs 6 times the price of this sub, yet the 300 sounds very much like a member of the more elite sub designs, which is quite an accomplishment at this price point. As I said, you can buy larger subs in this price range and get deeper bass, but you'll lose out on accuracy.
Now I know Martin Logan is serious about their image and products, so here are a couple of suggestions:
1) Get rid of the horrible spring speaker connections. They scream cheap on any modern product. Most people will probably use the LFE connections anyway, but every choice made still effects the overall impression of the product. I wish I had been at the meeting when this decision was made.
2) Consider making the crossover control a bit better so far as labeling it in greater detail. This way the user can easily keep track of what they're trying during setup. Little details like this enhance the owning experience and will gain you more loyal fans.
3) Watch quality control very carefully. While the build quality appears good, my sample has the speaker connection assembly mounted a bit askew. You don't want to see that on a ML product regardless of price.
Summary: A very solid choice for a low priced sub, the Dynamo 300 provides a strong entry into the more serious realm of audiophiles and even a great bargain for a 2nd system of someone who's looking for better than mid-fi subwoofer. This would also be an excellent choice for a higher end computer speaker system, though I expect ML to introduce the Dynamo PC100 for that precise application soon (I'll take credit for the idea!). Well done.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Amazing little sub!
by Modi Hammarstedt, 3 years ago

I have a pair of Bowers and Wilkins 686 Bookshelf Speakers in my bedroom system and was in DIRE need of the low end, because as great as the low end is in those it wasn't near what I wanted. I was looking at Martin Logan subwoofers at Magnolia at Best Buy but the ones there were just too much, I tested the Energy ESW-C8 but it was way too powerful and it didn't go low enough for my tastes. Then I checked out the B&W ASW608 which sounded fantastic but was way out of my price range. I checked out Martin Logan's side of the showroom and found that the Grotto i was perfect for me but was WAY too expensive, and impracticable for dorm life. I then stumbled upon the Dynamo 500 which was amazing but too big which left me discouraged, so I went on this website only to find a Dynamo 300!!! I was ecstatic! With the quality of the 500 in a smaller package, exactly what I needed!

PROS
Looks: Very simplistic and minimalistic, I love it! It sits between my dresser and wall and looks magnificent, not a show stopper but not ugly by any means!

Connectivity: Basic types, nothing wrong here, very easy to connect and start playing!

Controls: I love the controls!!! Crossover extends to 45hz but I don't know anyone that would make it extend that far, I have it at 90hz (around that) and it is the perfect balance!

Volume: Perfectly loud enough for my room which as I said is a bedroom and in the future dorm for college, I don't want to tear the whole building down but I do want to feel the floor and walls vibrate. I have it set to about 75% volume which is around 100W when my receiver is turned up all the way

Low End: 32hz is pretty good for an 8 inch woofer!!! I was amazed at the bass coming out of this thing! I played 'Venice' by Chris Botti and was astounded at the bass line, I've never heard deep CLEAR bass like that out of anything so small before! I played 'Everything you Love' by Chimaira and the fast clean bass drum was so crisp, not boomy at all!

Price: Nothing comes close to this quality at this price! Sure you can get some bajillion watt 15 inch subwoofer for $300 to bring your house down but there's no clarity in that, and this is the perfect balance!

CONS
Styling options: Would have been nice to chose between different colors....

Overall:
If you have the money to buy a $300 subwoofer and you DON'T get this... I don't know what's going through your head! A GREAT GREAT GREAT subwoofer and will keep until I get a house which I will step up in size.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


sounds great
by grinder240, 3 years ago

This subs sounds great for the price its bass is perfect with bose surround sound. Had a polk before and its not even on same level, looks great and sounds even better, got a steal on this sub.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here



 
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Instagram

©1982-2014 MartinLogan, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.   | Privacy PolicyUnauthorized Dealers WARNING

United States United States