Email Address

  
Password

Remember me
Not a member? It's easy to join!
Forgot your pasword?

When you purchase a MartinLogan product, you join an exclusive community of people who own and love the very best audio. We want you to be part of that family and join in the conversation with other MartinLogan enthusiasts.

Join our community today to keep track of your registered products, submit your own personal product reviews, and create a profile page to show off your MartinLogan system!



Dynamo 500 Customer Reviews

Updating 11/2011 review of Electromotion ESL and the Dynamo 500 subwoofer
by RonC, 4 weeks ago

After purchasing the Martin Logan Electromotion ESL, I bought the Dynamo 500 subwoofer.
I loved my Martin Logan Electromotion ESL when I bought them, I enjoy them even more with the Dynamo 500.
The bass is now firm and extended. No flabby bass here. The subwoofer integrates perfectly with the ESL speakers.
My decision to purchase the M-L Electromotion ESL and Dynamo 500 have to be the best audio decisions I have made in decades. I had drifted away from audio for many years. The M-L speakers and sub-woofer drew me back and audio now is one of my life pleasures.
On top of that has been the outstanding service. There was some fraying of a power supply cord. A minute to write an email to support and a new cord was on the way.
There is no second guessing about the purchase of M-L speakers in my household.
Thank you, Martin Logan people!
Ron

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


awesome bass
by JIMBE, 11 months ago

love the bass so much

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Ephemeral Euphoria
by Chaitanya Evani, 1 year ago

Having heard great reviews about the Martin Logan Sub-Woofers from the folks at BestBuy Magnolia, I bought the Dynamo 500 Sub from Amazon. However, my excitement lasted only for a few minutes after connecting the sub up to my receiver.

As suggested, I carefully hooked up all the cables, turned down the volume level, double checked all the connections and setup the system to play the "moderate" listening level suggested in the manual. But, it only took about five minutes of playtime before it shut off. I immediately disconnected the speaker from the receiver and the power source to check for the fuse and was surprised to find it already popped.

So, I picked up a couple of replacements of the fuse (the slow blow 1.6A 250V glass fuses - recommended by ML) from Frys only to find that the moment any of these fuses were installed and the sub powered on, with/without the input from the receiver and the volume levels turned down fully, they all got blown one after another.

Going back to the forums for help, I now realize that this seems to be a common problem. It is disappointing to have a product from such a great company and not be able to enjoy it at all.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Sub Died After 8 Months
by DavidH, 1 year ago

First off, let me say that the Dynamo 500 is an outstanding sub (when it works). However, I just moved into a new home with my fiance and the sub started to act up. At first it would randomly chirp when turning on or off. Then a few days after the chirping started the sub would hit random notes. The bass started to sound distorted even under light loads. One night after watching a movie with my fiance we went upstairs to go to bed. About 30 minutes went buy then the sub randomly hit heavy bass notes about 3 to 4 times. The bedroom is above the living room and it literally shook the room. My fiance thought someone had driven a car through the house.

This is when I decided to call Martin Logan and find out what was going on. After calling the tech support line I was transferred to Scott. Scott then started to explain what could be wrong with the sub. Appropriately the Dynamo 500 has been on its second major reconfiguration and is known to have these problems. This was very concerning for me. Especially after shelling out so much money for the Martin Logan setup I purchased (Motion 40's, Motion 30 Center and the Dynamo 500). The only real option I had was to have the old sub returned and a new one sent to me. Don't get me wrong, I loved the Dynamo 500 when it was working in full capacity, but if it has already had two major issues I wonder if more are to come. I tried to opt for the Dynamo 700 instead of getting another 500 but was declined. I even tried to work with my local dealer (Best Buy) to see if I can trade the Dynamo 500 back in and upgrade to the Dynamo 700. I was also told this what not a possibility. If you are looking for a nice sub to compliment your system I would not go for the Dynamo 500. Spend the extra money and get the Dynamo 700 as I have not found any complaints about it online.

On another note I would like to thank Scott at Martin Logan for helping me. He was very professional and understanding. I just wish I was able to jump to the 700 after all of the problems with the 500.

Please note I never pushed the sub parameters above 50% capacity.

The only reason I give the Dynamo 500 2 stars is due to the fact it has died after 8 months and is already on its second reconfiguration. I only hope the others that already have the 500 do not have the same issues.

Best regards,

David Hardison

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Dynamo 5000
by Joseph Hernandez, 2 years ago

This is a replacement of a, retired to my garage setup,15 year old 12" jbl psw-1200. (2x the size of the ML)

The ML sub cabinet is very well constructed. It is solid and has no signs of resonance. The rear amp controls are easy to read and adjust. The heat sink is huge! I'm guessing it puts out more than the stated 120 watts rms. The speaker appears to be a good sq / spl mixed design. My only concern is the dual rear port design. Besides the inability to put them in the front due to size limitations, I can only guess that it aids in minimizing unwanted port noise.

So far this ML has impressed me with very musical and accurate low end reproduction. Whether the music calls for punch, deep bass, or just low end, the results were great. It blends in well with my satellite B&W 685s and center 62b. And all this at half the size!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Booming Base
by Z93indy, 2 years ago

Booming base makes floors rattle and shake when loud sounds from bombs or earthquakes are played on movies or TV. Great base sounds!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


deep bass
by sounddude, 2 years ago

Lets say i like bass and this sub has what it takes to make a bass head happy. It is accurate and and really works well with the motion 4 on wall speakers. Thanks Martin Logan!!!!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Very Pleased
by hittman, 3 years ago

I am very satisfied with punch and clean sound that the 500 provides. I purchased this unit as part of my 5.1 theater surround sound system. It sounds great while watching movies and has a clean powerful bass while listening to music. I listened to six different subs before making my decision on the Dynamo 500. My TV room is 16x20 and the 500 delivers plenty of bottom end for this size room. I would recommend you find a store with this sub and a few others and make your own decision.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Review Update
by Angeloc, 4 years ago

Martin Logan offered me a fix to the popping noise on my subwoofer. They are a stand up Company. I am very pleased with the customer service dept.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


UNHAPPY
by Angeloc, 4 years ago

I recently purchased two motion 12 speakers, one motion 8 center, and two motion 4 speakers. I also purchased the dynamo 500 sub. I am extremely satisfied with all the speakers except the sub. It pops when it turns itself off or goes into sleep mode. I was told by Martin Logan this is normal, but i find it annoying on a $500.00 sub.

MartinLogan Response:
Angelo - We agree! We heard feedback from our customers and decided to do something about it. We will replace your subwoofer backplate amp with a new one that has the modification in place to eliminate the "pop" you hear when it's turned off.

Also, all new production units built after August 2010 will have the new modification and will not thump on shut down. If you have a Dynamo500 that does, please contact our service department for a free replacement backplate.

1 of 1 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Excellent sound quality, simply incredible!
by Chris K., 4 years ago

This is a fine subwoofer and if you use your ears and not all the specs hype of other subwoofers you will be pleasantly surprised! I actually did not intend to buy this subwoofer, I went to test two other subwoofers and came across this one in the test theater. I was amazed at how much cleaner and audible the bass response was compared to the two I went to demo. I was originally looking at the deftech sub1000 and super8. I accidentally switched this one on while looking for the deftech sub1000 input, since the numbers in the demo rooms never seem to match how they are labeled on the console. I couldn't believe how good this sub sounded. I had to search the room feeling the different subs to find out which one was making this amazing sound. Talk about surprised when i finally discovered that this little guy was responsible for the sound quality i was hearing. And the price was comparable to the sub1000 and lower than the super8. I took a chance since I hadn't spent anytime researching this sub and took it home. Now 6 months later I am still amazed at how good this sounds. Fills my 16x20 living room and is a warm controlled sound, not sloppy or boomy at all. Just really great and I get lots of compliments on this sub. People can not believe it is only one 10" and 120 watts rms. Like I said don't believe all the hype, let your ears be the judge! I heard 400 watt subs that cant go as low as this one. Give it a try and you won't be disappointed, I promise!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


The Subwoofer You Can't Miss for the Price
by Wm, 5 years ago

It was time to update my listening experience. I thought that all I needed to do was find a good base end to augment the older NEC subwoofer on my current home theater system. Larger room, two subwoofers, easy match, eh? Not so fast... When I listened to the bass curve response of the Dynamo 500 unit in comparsion to Velodyne and Definitive Audio subwoofers I didn't image that there could be this great of a difference. The harsh brassinesss of other units was easily offset by the clear, warm response of the Dynamo 500. I wish all other choices were as clear cut. My old NEC subwoofer is now history.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Awesome
by marlowejr, 5 years ago

Crazy love, I replaced a sub by Mirage. Clearly hear the difference cost just tidbit more. Definite upgrade.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here



 
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Instagram

©1982-2014 MartinLogan, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.   | Privacy PolicyUnauthorized Dealers WARNING

United States United States