Email Address

  
Password

Remember me
Not a member? It's easy to join!
Forgot your pasword?

When you purchase a MartinLogan product, you join an exclusive community of people who own and love the very best audio. We want you to be part of that family and join in the conversation with other MartinLogan enthusiasts.

Join our community today to keep track of your registered products, submit your own personal product reviews, and create a profile page to show off your MartinLogan system!



Motion 12 Customer Reviews

Mind Blowing
by LoungeRat, 2 years ago

I've been blessed with an ear for detail and as a musician who's spent time on both sides of the stage and studio I've trained myself to critically listen to everything. I've also been cursed in that I hear the imperfections in most audio equipment.

After purchasing these speakers I've found that for the first time in my life I've been able to stop listening for high points and low points in a piece and instead just start emotionally engaging. After spending a few weeks listening to my Motion series fronts and surrounds and letting them start to loosen up a bit I can honestly say if you're told these are "budget" speakers you're being misled. This is not a watered down version of something else or disguised attempt to sell a brand name via shortcuts.

These speakers give a stereo image in a tremendous way. I'm able to sit and listen and pinpoint, almost in a three dimensional field, where each instrument and voice is in the mix. I'm able to listen to each instrument and hear how it should sound individually rather than trying to simply decide if the sum total works well together. If you want real proof - try putting on Led Zeppelin's "Since I've Been Loving You". If you can't hear John Bonham's kick drum pedal squeaking you're not hearing everything you should!

While this is a great value, like most products it's not for everyone. They will not make bad records sound good, and I would say they tend to be a bit on the bright side. For the majority of my music preferences and for movies that lends a helping hand. If you find yourself trending to hard rock or rap music though you're probably not going to get quite the enjoyment out of these that I have. While these seem to be a great 2-chan contender and the bass was quite solid, to really "feel" the lower frequencies you should consider adding a sub.

These are not Electrostats. I did really enjoy the sound of Electrostats and think you owe it to yourself to spend a while in front of a pair but didn't feel the added price was warranted in my listening environment. Additionally, the sweet spot for the Motions was noticeably more forgiving and in a wide room such as mine it was an added bonus.

If you are in the market for an entry-level audiophile speaker I'm sure you've researched enough to know to give these or the newer 20/40's a listen. If you're on the fence about whether or not to buy "real" speakers or go for a home-theater-in-a-box option to save money I would strongly, strongly encourage you to skimp elsewhere. The Motions will change how you hear sound forever.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


motion 12 with dynamo 10
by Johnson, 2 years ago

I am very impressed with the sound quality of the motion 12 tower speakers. the high to low end is what every tower speaker should be!! put together with a dynamo 10 and a denon AVR-1613 the motion 12 speakers sound amazing.....
I will definetly be a return customer to martin logan and look foword to future products .......


O. J.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


better than JBL
by warrensongs, 2 years ago

What a treat to get these speakers and at a great price!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Impressed
by Oceanside, 2 years ago

It's my first time owning this product, and I am very satisfied, very difinitive sounding, bass note and mid-range and high range very precise and crisp. i most defenitly recomend this product to anyone who enjoys music.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


sound quality superb
by lonerwulf, 3 years ago

I listen to these in the store and though well if they are half as good as here the will sound great at home. I was wrong they were twice what I heard in the store. Probably due to how I have set them up. Either way they are really nice speakers. I am still breaking them in I can't wait to push them. If you are still on the fence stop wasting your time and pay the price you will not regret these speakers!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Motion 12 Floorstanders
by revaiah, 3 years ago

Excellent speakers. I bought them recently and using them with my Denon AVR 1911. Initially I was apprehensive noticing their impedance, had an opinion that motion 12s will fry my Amp. I have been using them for the last one week continuously (5-6 hours at a stretch). I do not see Denon getting hot, it runs cool.
Extremely nice midrange and mind blowing tight bass. Awesome combination of crossover, drivers and the cutest looking enclosures.

A must audition for music and movie lovers

1 of 1 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Motion 12
by Leon K., 3 years ago

Just the best!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Martin Logan 12/8/4 System. Blew the competition away.
by gainiac, 3 years ago

I've been a rock musician for over 30 years. I mention this only to say that I'm quite acustomed to loud music. I went to my local BB dealer with the hopes of purchasing a medium sized room HTib system while ideally getting as much power for the money as I could. The salesman initially showed me a competitors 5.1 system in their demo room, which I took home and thought I enjoyed but truly felt was less than adequate. I returned the following day, out of a need to also upgrade my receiver, and in speaking with a store manager, I asked to demo some other options. He put on ML Motion 12's, 4's with an 8 center and a Dynamo 700. I actually laughed out loud. I immediately had him put on MY system I had just purchased, and we A/B'd them with various DVD's/Blue Rays for over an hour. I cannot overstate how completely FLOORED I was. My new system died right there in that room. The musical tones that came from the ML system were more than incredible for the size. The width, the dynamic range in this system is very powerful. A few expletives came out of my mouth during a number of loud scenes from Avatar. The top end was so focused, cut the room easily, the mids so lively, the sub so big, musical, very fast, I absolutely just HAD to have this setup at home. Needless to say I brought the other system back immediately, and purchased the 4's and 8 right away. I have been building my system, with the final piece being the Motion 12's I added this evening. It's insane. I truly love this system! Thank you, ML!

1 of 1 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Superb!
by BHoltfreter, 3 years ago

I have been enjoying these pair of Motion 12 for a couple weeks now. The highs are great and the lows are as well. Before I had a pair of Sony three way dual 8 inch woofers. Their highs were okay and the lows were not that impressive. With the Motion 12 I could turn my powered subwoofer off if I wanted and still enjoy smooth deep bass with great highs as well.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Motion 12
by Emmanuel S., 3 years ago

absolutely amazing speakers for price.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Kicks Butt
by yoppster, 3 years ago

Purchased the Motion 12 speakers (2ea) along with the Motion 6 center speaker & Dynamo 700 subwoofer to go with my Denon AVR 1912 amp & all I can say is wow! It really is the bomb also have two kenwood suround speakers (sorry M/L) & this system is the talk of the town. Was glad I was turned on to Martin Logan they kick butt!!

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Home Theater Must.
by BLWJ, 4 years ago

I have listned to other front speakers and I would put these against any of them.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Lovely sound! I listen to them primarily for stereo sound, and am very pleased!
by kocean, 4 years ago

I've paired the Motion 12 towers, with a Dynamo 1000 sub, and am amazed by the sound quality.

I listen to a very wide variety of music, and once the speakers burned in, they are very versatile.

My first impressions were that they lacked in the mid/low end, but about 30 hours in, they began sounding worlds better for ambient/electronic music. They sounded good for jazz, classical, and Ray Charles esq. music right from the start, but with time they really opened up.

I highly recommend them for all genres. They have changed my life, and anybody I let have a listen, tells me that they've literally ruined their listening experience on anything but them.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Unbelievably Accurate
by mike, 4 years ago

Motion 12's are unbelievably accurate for outstanding sound reproduction. I have my pair hooked up to a Pioneer SC-9540 class E amp, and on pure direct it is incredible audio. The folded motion tweeter out preformed all the other speakers that I have extensively researched and demoed. Most titanium and aluminum tweeters have a narrower range of accurate reproduction before the highs start to feel uncomfortable to listen to. I listened to eva casidy with various speakers and i found that the motion 12's had the most present sound. The mid-range is another factor of why i chose them. Taking it off pure direct and putting it to 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio/DTS-High resolution audio, it gave me an entire realm of incredibly accurate tones and balanced range. I have a much better time listening to music rather then watching a movie, but none the less, these speakers are worth the extra dollars. I could not be more happy with my motion 12's.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


"Outstanding!"
by BigErn, 4 years ago

I've had the Motion 12s over a month now and would sum up my experience as nothing less than amazing. The Motions were replacing an aged pair of VMPS Minitower 2a's. As the VMPS's were a much larger 4-way rig I worried that some of the depth and presence may be lost by this transition. After a month with the MLs, I can honestly say the Motion 12s have blown me away. Even the most demanding highs and mids are reproduced with effortless accuracy and stunning brilliance via the Folded Motion tweeter and dipole midrange. The wide dispersion characteristics generated by the open enclosure create a warm feeling as the music wraps around you. The lows are nicely handled by the dual 6 1/2" woofers which are fast and not overpowering. Whether its music or soundtrack, 2-channel or integrated into a home theater, the MartinLogan Motion 12s are a wonderful choice. For audio enthusiasts that want the high-end experience without the high-dollar price tag, Motions are the only way to go.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here



 
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Instagram

©1982-2014 MartinLogan, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.   | Privacy PolicyUnauthorized Dealers WARNING

United States United States