Email Address

  
Password

Remember me
Not a member? It's easy to join!
Forgot your pasword?

When you purchase a MartinLogan product, you join an exclusive community of people who own and love the very best audio. We want you to be part of that family and join in the conversation with other MartinLogan enthusiasts.

Join our community today to keep track of your registered products, submit your own personal product reviews, and create a profile page to show off your MartinLogan system!



My SL3
by hifi craze, 2 years ago

After owning a lot of cone speakers, I would say I finally found the perfect speakers for my hifi listening. Bought this pair of speaker used but in perfect shape from the first owner. I very happy with my ML SL3.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


My Love Affair of 21 Years
by Bradley P., 2 years ago

I bought my SL3 speakers new in Columbus, Ohio, in 1998 after yearning for a pair of MLs since hearing the Quests at an audio expo in 1991. My wife and I listened to several other comparably priced speakers at the dealer and were left flat. Then we heard the SL3s and our jaws dropped. We finally had found what we were looking for. The speakers are as gorgeous looking and natural sounding today as they were 15 years ago. (The same holds true of the Acurus A250 amp and L10 preamp that power my SL3s, and I've had the electronics 20 years.)

It is so fun when friends ask "what are those" and then learn what high fidelity actually is when you play some great recordings. They usually think sound is also coming from the amp between the speakers because the image is so realistic and "filled in." Sound seems to exist independent from the speakers, which is one characteristic of a great transducer.

When the stator on one speaker began to slip down a couple of years ago, a quick e-mail to ML resulted in a kit being mailed to me gratis to fix the problem. Who does that? I continue to be amazed by the company and their products. If mine ever break, I'll be a repeat customer, but at this rate, I'll buried in the huge boxes the SL3s came in.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


My SL3 dreams
by Elisha Govan, 2 years ago

I purchased my SL3's in 2008, just when the recession was really kicking in, and many were tight for money. As it were, I had relocated back home to the South Jersey area, and planned to stay for a couple of years. I was reacquainting myself with the South Jersey, Philadelphia area local Hi End stereo dealers, and discovered the Album-Hunter in Maple Shade NJ, which deals in collectable recordings, 45's, Album, cassette and eight track tapes, and such things. They also have had a Hi Fi exchange and use stereo equipment purchase business on site, and I just happened to stop in one day, and they had just picked up a set of perfect SL3's, which were flaw-less in appearance and reproduction. Some unfortunate guy was going through a divorce in the Philadelphia area, and had to unload them. I had been wanting these babies since the mid-90's, but kids, mortgage, and life got in the way; but not this time. I got mine for just over $1,000.00 dollars, and have been enjoying them since late 2008, and its been the greatest listening experience of my life. I started off by powering them with my older Denon AVR 4806 7.1 monster, and the sound was awesome, however, that unit was difficult to setup, it lacked the Audyssey MultEQ XT, room equalization system. Next I powered it with my legendary Kenwood Sovereign 4900, it just couldn't deliver the upper high ends, quality and transparency was just not there. I was fortunate to find Denon's legendary AVR 5805 online, and I picked it up locally, so I was able to test it before purchase. Wow, my SL3's have new life, and I hear sound stereo phonically reproduce to studio quality now. Sadly, for those of you in the Philadelphia, South Jersey area, The Album Hunter closed its doors in 2011, the owners said they just got tired of picking up heavy used stereo equipment, and all the other in's and out of running that kind of business, I wish them well.

1 of 1 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


SL3 second hand: activated
by Peter Schelbert, 2 years ago

I purchased a pair of SL3 used.
They have the great stereo image of planar speakers. However I noticed some flaws:
-Bass has resonances and limited SPL. A measurements showed the bass-box is vibrating as well as the panels. (are excited by the bass). Bass got quickly to limits.
-upper highs are not good. A measurement revealed around -12dB at 20kHz (trafo is the problem)

I modified them. I actually have activated them by directly connecting the drivers to an active crossover and power-amping them. Bass-Box needed re-enforcment. To correct the attenuated highs, I added a magnetostatic tweeter.
I exchanged the bass chassis with a better one (SEAS 26RY4Y.
Now they sound a lot better and shine.
A nice effect is, the power amps need much less power for the same SPL.

0 of 1 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Impeccable!
by Wayne Lubin, 3 years ago

I purchased my SL3's when they first came out sixteen years ago and since have added a Theater center, Scripts for my rear, and a Descent subwoofer. The SL3's have been so wonderful, I purchased the other speakers since then for a truly wonderful home theater experience (although I still use my SL3's for stereophonically reproducing albums, tapes and CD's).
For my money, you can't do better!

0 of 1 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


After more than a dozen years, I still love these speakers.....
by Keith Anvick, 3 years ago

I've owned a pair of SL3 speakers for at least a dozen years. The quality and transparency of the sound they produce is simply exceptional. I'm as satisfied with these speakers today as the day I bought them.....

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


FLAWLESS!!!!!!
by Tony Manley, 4 years ago

I will never forget that day in December 1995 when my SL3's arrived. They captured my soul, still give me goose bumps when I listen to some of my favorite music, wheather it's Barbra Streisand or Barry White it's like being right there in the same room with the performer.

Now I have a Theater i center channel, the Scripts for the rear, SL3's in front and the Depth 1 for my sub. It ROCKS!!! Especially with a Blue Ray DVD playing.
Whenever I have a problem or a question I call Martin Logan and they are always so curtious and helpful and know exactly who to connect me to for assistance.
Keep up the GREAT work you guys, I appreciate it.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


TIMELESS QUALITY
by JEFFakaMAX, 4 years ago

I purchased my SL3's back in 1996. I am continuously researching and following the latest and greatest in the High-end audio arena. If I ever come across a better set of speakers, I will buy them. I am not holding my breath however since it has not happened in the last 14 years. They sound as good as the day I brought them home and I have not been exactly 'nice' to them.
Absolutely worth every penny, period.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here


Tough Critic
by DD 235, 5 years ago

I'm >10 year owner of full ML theater/listening setup - SL3's, Theater, and Scripts - some of which has moved 5 times with me, and I can't believe how incredible these speakers still sound. We just moved again and have the SL3's in a very large room and my family and I rocked for an entire day in amazement at how crisp and clean these speakers still sound - good as the day I bought them in 1998! I'm extremely critical about my sound systems, and there still not another speaker brand that has the dynamic range or clarity of Martin Logan. This weekend, we were hearing the tiniest nuances in the music that we had forgotten or never even noticed. If you want a speaker that will make you feel like you are truly in a concert and articulately deliver a guitar string being picked as if the player was right next to you, buy ML's.

0 of 0 people found this helpful

Was this review helpful?
You must be a ML Insider Club member to rate this review. Join here



 
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Instagram

©1982-2014 MartinLogan, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.   | Privacy PolicyUnauthorized Dealers WARNING

United States United States